Port St. Lucie police recently arrested a 39-year-old woman who is alleged to have been driving under the influence of alcohol with four flat tires and a child in the back seat of her car. Police reported that the woman was observed driving at about 10 mph in a 40 mph zone. She had a long line of cars behind her.
Upon pulling the woman over, police detected a strong odor of an alcoholic beverage on her breath. As per the four flat tires, the woman reportedly stated that there was nothing wrong with her vehicle. A Circle K employee had called 911 after the same woman came into the store and was apparently drunk.
The driver was taken into custody after reportedly failing field sobriety tests. She was charged with driving under the influence of alcohol and child neglect and released on a $4,500 bond.
Although a misdemeanor, Florida treats even a first DUI conviction seriously. Port Saint Lucie DUI defense attorney Jeffrey H. Garland advises that first conviction is punishable by the following:
- A fine of between $250 and $500.
- One year of probation.
- 50 hours of community service.
- Up to six months in jail.
- A 180 day driver’s license revocation.
- Successful completion of a 12 hour alcohol education program.
If a minor is in the vehicle at the time of the DUI arrest, and the driver is found to have a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher, the driver can be sentenced to up to nine months in jail.
If you’ve been arrested on a DUI charge, contact Saint Lucie County Criminal lawyer Jeffrey H. Garland at 772-489-2200 to arrange for a consultation and evaluation on your DUI charge. He’s a board certified criminal trial lawyer, and he’s been serving Florida’s Treasure Coast since 1981. He’s highly respected by judges and prosecutors, and he’ll provide you with the highest level of representation in any criminal case.