2500 Rhode Island Avenue
Suite B
Fort Pierce, FL 34947

Call Now For A Personalized Case Evaluation

(772) 489-2200

Vero Beach man who was driving erratically arrested after chase

Vero Beach dui arrest

According to law enforcement authorities from the Indian River County Sheriff’s Office, a 33-year-old Vero Beach man was arrested for driving under the influence following a short chase. The incident occurred on Jan. 10 around 1 p.m. in Vero Beach.

Law enforcement officers reportedly observed Joseph Moyer traveling at 53 miles per hour in a 35 mile-per-hour zone near Oslo Middle School. Moyer was also allegedly driving erratically. After officers turned on their lights and sirens to attempt to stop Moyer, he initially failed to stop. Following a brief chase, Moyer came to a stop at the intersection of 2nd St. SW and 1st Place SW. The officers report that they had to knock on Moyer’s window to get his attention. He was subsequently taken into custody and charged with driving under the influence.

Under § 316.193, Fla. Stat. (2020), people can be convicted of driving under the influence in a couple of ways. The police can charge people who are in actual physical control of their vehicles while their driving is impaired by alcohol. They can also be charged with a DUI if they have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher at the time of their stops and arrests.

The penalties for a DUI conviction in Florida depend on the number of past DUI convictions within the past 10 years a person has and whether there were any aggravating circumstances. For a first DUI offense, people can face the following penalties:

  • Fine from $500 up to $1,000 or from $1,000 to $2,000 for a BAC of 0.15% or higher
  • Imprisonment from zero days up to six months or up to nine months if the BAC was 0.15% or higher
  • Mandatory 50 hours of community service or an additional fine of $500 in lieu of community service
  • Probation for up to one year
  • Suspension of driving privileges from 180 days up to one year

For a second DUI conviction within 10 years, the penalties increase as follows:

  • Fine from $1,000 up to $2,000 or from $2,000 to $4,000 if the BAC was 0.15% or higher
  • Imprisonment up to nine months or 12 months if the BAC was 0.15% or higher
  • Mandatory ignition interlock for 12 months at the person’s expense
  • Revocation of driver’s license from six months to one year if the second offense was more than five years after the first conviction or five years if the second offense occurred within five years of the prior offense

The penalties continue to increase for third and fourth offenses and when aggravating factors occur.

Get help from an experienced Vero Beach criminal lawyer

If you are facing charges following a Vero Beach DUI arrest or know someone who is in a similar situation, you should talk to an experienced Vero Beach criminal lawyer at the Law Office of Jerry H. Garland, P.A. Mr. Garland has more than 38 years of experience defending people who face charges after a Vero Beach DUI arrest. Contact us today to request an appointment by calling 772.489.2200.