2500 Rhode Island Avenue
Suite B
Fort Pierce, FL 34947

Call Now For A Personalized Case Evaluation

(772) 489-2200

Vero Beach police arrest man at downtown park, charge him with molestation

Vero Beach Molestation Defense Lawyer

Hiring a Vero Beach Molestation Defense Lawyer

TCPalm reported on November 12, 2019, that a 20-year-old man was arrested at a downtown playground and charged with lewd and lascivious molestation of a child between ages 12-16 and is now in need of a Vero Beach molestation defense lawyer . Police said the alleged offender solicited a teenager to commit sex acts in the park bathroom on Veteran’s Day.

A person notified a Vero Beach police officer on routine patrol at Pocahontas Park after seeing the man enter the bathroom with the teenager. The police report stated the alleged offender enticed a minor child by watching pornographic material on his cell phone prior to entering the bathroom.

The man was booked into Indian River County Jail and was being held on $100,000 bail. The teenager had been playing at the playground with friend when the interaction occurred.

Florida Statute § 800.04(5) establishes that a person commits the crime of lewd or lascivious molestation when they intentionally touch the breasts, genitals, or buttocks of a child younger than 16 in a lewd or lascivious manner or encourage, force, or entice a child younger than 16 to touch another person in a lewd or lascivious manner. Lewd or lascivious molestation crimes are classified based on the ages of the alleged offenders and the alleged victims.

Lewd or lascivious molestation by person 18 years of age or older on a child under 12 years of age is a life felony punishable by a minimum 25 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000, but lewd or lascivious molestation by a person 18 years of age or older on a child 12 years of age or older but less than 16 years of age is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000. When an alleged offender is under 18 years of age and an alleged victim is younger than 12 years of age, the crime is also a second-degree felony, but lewd or lascivious molestation by a person younger than 18 years of age on a child 12 years of age or older but less than 16 years of age is a third-degree felony punishable by up to five years in prison and/or a fine of up to $5,000.

Any person accused of lewd or lascivious molestation will want to quickly seek the help of an experienced Vero Beach molestation defense lawyer. A Vero Beach criminal defense lawyer will be able to fight to possibly get the criminal charges reduced or dismissed.

Help from a Vero Beach Molestation Defense Lawyer

A Vero Beach molestation defense lawyer can review all of the facts surrounding a criminal case and identify the strongest possible defenses against the criminal charges. Keep in mind that certain defenses against these charges are prohibited, as a person cannot claim that a child consented to sexual activity or that they did not know the child’s age.

You will want to get yourself a Vero Beach criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. If you or someone you know have been in a similar legal situation, contact The Law Office of Jeffrey H. Garland, P.A. at 772.489.2200.