It is never a good feeling to see and hear the flashing lights and blaring horns of a police car indicating you had better come to a stop … and it can be far worse if you have been drinking and driving. Known as DUI, a driving under the influence charge in Florida, as in all states, is a serious offense that can bring you jail time, steep fines, a suspended license, community service, and a lasting mark on your driving record.
Drinking and driving is never a good idea. However, if you are stopped on suspicion of a DUI, your best defense is a lawyer who is experienced with the charge and can defend your case.
A worst case DUI can often result in tragedy, which is what happened in Fort Pierce, Florida. Larry Hamilton, age 43, was arrested and charged with DUI manslaughter after he hit and killed 1-year-old Azaria Morris. Under police questioning, he admitted that he had been at a barbecue and had “a few drinks.” A breathalyzer test was administered. The test revealed that his BAC (blood alcohol content) was .159, which is well over the limit. In all 50 states, a BAC of .08 or higher is enough cause for a DUI charge.
Conviction for a DUI in Florida can mean a fine of $500-$1,500, a suspended license of 180 days-1 year, as long as 6 months in jail (as long as 9 months with a BAC more than .15), and community service of 50 hours. A DUI charge in Florida should immediately send you to an attorney who has experience with drunk driving laws in the state. You need a strong defense against any Florida DUI law because everyone wants to avoid such tragedies as what occurred in Fort Pierce. Your DUI attorney will make sure that the state laws pertaining to driving and alcohol were fairly administered and correctly judged in your case.
A DUI is a serious charge and it should have a serious defense. You can get that with the experienced law firm of Jeffrey Garland. If you need help on a DUI defense, you need Garland. Call today.